Memoji Oskar van Rijswijk

Oskar van Rijswijk

•nl | •de

Oskar van Rijswijk is a dutchman living in the Rothaar Mountains in Germany. Together with his wife Antonia Koevoets he hikes in the outdoors and travels by bicycle through Europe.

The pandemic winter days I enjoyed following my feeds and digital news, playing chess, reading books, listening to podcasts and watching streaming video.

During our daily hikes and bike rides, we enjoyed the peace and beautiful nature here in the Sauerland.

Now we are travelling. You can follow our June cycling trip in Germany and The Netherlands through status updates in WhatsApp and my (Dutch language!) notes.

Past

Facts from my Plusquamperfekt.
  • 2017 • first multi-day bike trip with luggage. Biking is now our favorite way to travel.
  • 2016 • Emigrated to the Sauerland-Rothaargebirge Nature Park in the Süder Uplands in Germany. Since then I live with Antonia in the mountain village of Lenne, a locality in the municipality Schmallenberg, in the High Sauerland District, in North Rhine-Westphalia.
  • 1997 • my first Marathon on a mountainbike. Since then, the mountain bike accompanied me on vacation in the mountains for 20 years.
  • 1994 • my first internet connection, with 14,4 kbits modem. Since then I have been an avid internet user and co-authored a manual on website usability.
  • 1990 • ran my first Marathon. Later I became a qualified athletics coach and as an ultra runner I reached the top 10 in national championships over 100 km.
  • 1988 • married Antonia.
  • 1984 • first hiking trip in the mountains. Since then we regularly went on vacation to the mountains in Germany and the Alps.
  • 1983 • my first job, shortly after my military service. Since then I have worked full-time for 36 years without a break, until my retirement in 2019.
  • 1982 • met Antonia Koevoets, the love of my life.
  • 1981 • graduated from university. Since then I have been a political scientist.
  • 1954 • born in 's-Gravenhage in the Netherlands. Since then I have lived in the Randstad for 62 years, in The Hague, Amsterdam, Schiedam and Zoetermeer.